Marionb

By Marionb

They're BACK ....

Just when I thought I had seen the last of air-filled ghosts and goblins sprouting from front lawns, I see that Inflatable Yard Decor is back - just in time for Christmas!  And they are reproducing on our street as we speak. Since early this morning this cute little group has added two more characters! 

I think all this is such a novelty for me because we have not had little children on our street for years and now we do..a lovely family with two adorable little girls, who must delight in all these lovable characters in their front yard. For so long, we have only had colourful outdoor Christmas lights and wreaths on our doors...so this takes some getting-used-to...

I thought that I should  learn more about them and why they are so popular, so I went online. I read with interest that " these brightly coloured, cute, whimsical and very festive yard decor items are one of the latest trends in holiday yard decorating." Ok, so I'm out of touch...

I kept reading..I found out what they are made of, how they work, how and where to set them up, and how to clean and store them for next season... not that I will ever need this information.

I also learned that you can find inflatables that are "appropriate for most any holiday or special occasion", ( Wow..ANY special occasion? The possibilities are endless? ) and that the beauty of inflatables is that they "make a bold statement that cannot be ignored". Yep. They sure do.  

And finally, "With a minimal amount of effort, you can transform your own home into that supremely decorated house in your neighbourhood that everyone is talking about." 

That's where they really lost me...why would anyone want that? 

The last thing I would want is to be the talk of the neighbourhood, so for sure, I will not be getting with the times and putting up an inflatable Santa ..or eight flying reindeer.. I will stick with Christmas lights and a wreath and let others bask in the glory of having the most supremely decorated house on the block. 

Inflatables are obviously not my thing; I am too old and not very trendy! But, just because I don't want them on my lawn doesn't mean that I don't appreciate the effort my neighbours are making in order to make each season memorable for their children..What child would not love to have a playground of fun-filled Christmassy characters in their own front yard? And this Christmas, it will be refreshing for all of us to have happy children and something "Cute, Whimsical and Festive" brightening up the neighbourhood.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.