Marionb

By Marionb

A Touch of Red...

and orange, and purple and lime and pink...etc.

It was time to add some zing to my living room and also time to rotate the quilt hanging on its wall..The answer? Hang one of my four red quilts..they are all pretty zingy!  Pick one. Any one.

This one is a simple patchwork using primarily Kaffe Fassett fabrics.. with some others thrown in. At the time I think I considered it quite wild..all those vivid colours...all those patterns...but that was before I took a weekend workshop with Kaffe and ended up with one with even more punch!  But that's a story for another blip.

This quilt is from my hand-quilting days...days I remember fondly. There is something soothing, almost hypnotic, about quilting by hand..In the beginning, I did the quilting, as my mother did, on a huge frame set up in whatever space I could find..but eventually, sitting on a chair and leaning over that frame to sew got to be too much for my back and I switched over to a lap frame. That worked for a while until arthritis made the hand sewing difficult and the only solution was machine-quilting. There were advantages to that though...with someone else doing the quilting, I could focus on making quilt tops ..many quilt tops! 

I have been away from quilting for quite some time but recently have become interested again. The blue quilt I started a few weeks ago has been my ticket back into my sewing room. It has been fun playing with fabric again and so far I have enjoyed the challenge of making it up as I go... I am at a stage now where I am not sure where to go next with it...but that's part of the fun. And it is always interesting how the answer comes..often by chance.. "out of the blue" so to speak! 

I await inspiration....but meanwhile I have to dig out some red accessories for the living room! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.