A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Paused Paws

If you breathe in deeply, you should smell the aroma filling our house on this Thanksgiving Eve.  In my working days it was tradition to take Wednesday off for either traveling to my SIL's or, if home, to bake for Thanksgiving day.  This year, although retired now, I decided in addition to baking, I would also cook a couple of veggies in advance.  It took me almost 63 years to figure out it isn't worth stressing over not having enough burners on the stove, or not having enough counter space in the kitchen, plus it's much easier on my hands from all of the chopping * We adore my Mother's spicy pumpkin bread recipe and a treat we look forward to on Thanksgiving morning, and Christmas day.  Both loaves are currently cooling.  I also cooked and mashed fresh butternut squash and rutabagas, and they're snug in the refrigerator until tomorrow's meal * The cook is in chill mode because stuffing, roasted Brussel sprouts and gravy is all I will have to do tomorrow.  In case you're wondering about MrsP, the poor woman gets stuck with washing all of the dishes.  It doesn't sound like a fair trade to me, as I'd rather cook any day than do dishes, but she says she likes playing in the water :) How did I get so lucky?!? * Here's Newt checking out the winterberries.  They add so much color this time of year but they will soon pop when the ground turns white.  After Thursday, our weather turns drastically colder both during the day and night, most likely setting us up for our first snow. It's time, as December 1 is just one week away * Grateful in Maine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.