a lifetime burning

By Sheol

The female of the species

After several weeks of trying, I finally got close enough to a Marsh Harrier to get a decent shot of it.  I actually saw both a male and a female Marsh Harrier today, but only got close enough to this one.  I came back from today's safari with 360 shots the vast majority of which I've now reviewed and deleted.  But this one I'm pleased with - and if you have time it is better viewed large.  

The Marsh Harrier is largest of the harriers, and the females are larger than males - their wingspan can reach 130cm that's over 4 feet in old money, so they're every bit as big as a buzzard.

The RSPB web site reckons that there are around 400 pairs in the UK, which is better than it was, so they are now an Amber List species. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.