a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Street Furniture

Wide Wednesday: Street

A shot of Keynsham's redeveloped civic centre development known locally (and informally) as "The Golden Palace".  The circular hoops are bicycle racks in case you were wondering. 

I had my first Saturday job in a local DIY shop on the original site of this development.  Looking back now, through the tunnel of time, I realise that I actually rather enjoyed it.  The work was quite physical and the Boss could be a bit of a nightmare when he had one of his occasional burst of temper and went off on one.  But the shop employed 5 or 6 other teenagers at any one time, all of whom I met for the first time through this job and over time a strong camaraderie developed.  Games and pranks were played (lots of them), interests shared and friendships developed outside of working hours.

This is starting to read like a sketch for a Dickens novel - I'm definitely getting old.

As I post this I learn that Diego Maradona has died - so he is presumably now off to shake St Peter's hand with the "Hand Of God" and to see whether his name is on the guest list at the Pearly Gates...  There were a host of English football fans back in 1986 who would have liked to see him going somewhere rather warmer courtesy of that famous handball.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.