Celebrating a life well lived

I decided to do my shopping last night. It was a snap decision, but the right one. I went out at 8pm and was home before 9. It meant I could have a little bit of a lie in this morning - I was feeling really tired and the thought of another early rushed morning followed by a long drive, didn't appeal. So I was up later, walked to the allotment to feed the chickens, and was in the car heading to Hoddesdon by 9.

A brief stop in Tesco at Swaffham, and arrived at mums by 11.45. I know you don't need all these times, but I'm telling you anyway!

This afternoon mum and I attended the funeral for a well loved old friend. It was at Woollensbrook crematorium- sadly a familiar place for us this year. The service was beautiful, and so well attended. Unsurprising, as dear Mick was so popular. Always a friendly happy smiling face greeted us when we visited, and so welcomed by him. His whole family did him proud with moving tributes, funny stories and the love for this husband, dad and grandad was evident. A difficult time for this close family, and their friends, as we know too well, but I know they have a close bond and will support each other in the coming months. I'm glad I had the opportunity to catch up with all the girls, and hopefully they know where to come if they want to chat.

Mum and I are now relaxing in front of the TV, before bed....actually mum is asleep as I type! Tomorrow I plan another lie in....then maybe a day shopping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.