Reminiscing

My body forgot to tell my brain that it wanted a lie in today. So I was awake at 6.45. Eventually I was so wide awake I got up, but by then it was 8 o'clock.

I had set myself some very small tasks. Nothing unachievable. So began after breakfast by unscrewing the runners from inside the kitchen drawer that has broken. It has been an ongoing challenge to sort out this particular drawer and I had an idea when I realised that we woukd be removing our kitchen. I brought down the drawer from mine that fits, but the runners don't line up. So for now it must sit in the space until I can also bring down the runners.

Then I drove round the corner to the post office, to dispatch 2 parcels I've been carrying around with me until after pay day. Together with 20 2nd class Christmas stamps my bill came to £33!

After that I rang Eon to sort out mums electricity bill etc. 45 minutes with a very helpful young man who was working from his bedroom. Another company making people use their own electricity in order to work. By the time that was sorted, mum was up and ready to go out. We drove to Harlow and spent 2 hours shopping for Christmas presents in TK Maxx.

After lunch I spent a bit of my afternoon in Hoddesdon. I wandered a bit, but didn't feel there was much that I was looking for.

Manda came over for the evening as I was keen to view an old film I found from a video camera which had been something dad had loved. Video cameras followed on from his cine cameras, and he used them to record many of the exotic holidays that mum and dad had once we had left home. We didn't watch any of those, but really enjoyed one dad had made of his motorbikes, and a variety of others. It was especially nice to hear his voice, but also sad. Some were the cine he had transferred to video, with reduced quality but still nice to see. Lots of me as a baby, but also mum and dad's wedding and mine and Jon's. Snippets of all of these are shown with the 2 cameras I had to use, in order to get it on the TV to view. One camera won't play, but will rewind (eventually) and the other won't rewind, but will play! I juggled this as none of the tapes had been rewound!

Manda came over and it was a nice evening, albeit a late one! I need to go to bed. Heading home tomorrow as I have lots to do and we have Mollie's graduation in Manchester on Tuesday. Our craft event will be here before we know it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.