Garden jobs

At last my brain accepted the whole of me needed a lie in, so I was pleased but surprised that I didn't wake until gone 9. I'm pretty sure that the first thing crossing my mind was a feeling that I should be doing something...but it was only a very short lived panic and I soon dozed back off for 15 minutes, before getting up and making mum and I a cup of tea.

Once up I laid the table for a civilised breakfast with mum. Then she went off to get dressed, while I changed a bulb in the kitchen light, and then filled the green bin with the enormous pile of leaves discarded by our much loved apple tree. There are always practical jobs to do....I don't just mess about with old films when at mums, although I do do a lot of that!

I loaded my car with my bags and after coffee, left at around 12.30. The weather was dismal and I was anxious to get home in the daylight....of course, I hadn't thought that through. I was, after all, dropping in on Karen in Girton on my way back, to collect her gazebo, which I am borrowing for next week's craft stall. Arriving at her temporary home in King's Hedges I met Neil cycling towards me. We had a quick hug, then I let him on his way to the football. Karen and I chatted and drank tea and ate cake - she is the best baker I know! Then suddenly it was 3.30 and I was never going to be home in daylight! But we just don't see enough of each other and I have to make the most of any opportunities to see old friends - it really has been a 'seeing old friends' few days. And although the meetings were prompted by a sad event, I have been able to see some of my favourite friends, and that has been a big positive for me :-)

The drive was wet, windy and mostly quite dark. I took it slow after that horrible aquaplaning incident last time. Extra cautious I didn't get home until 5.45, but safely and that is what matters!

Jon and Henry have managed to get on further with bits in the kitchen. Henry has put in sockets on the back wall where no sockets existed before. It's like magic! Our new sockets and switches look good - I will blip them on another day! Jon has sealed off the old radiator pipes. One has been cut down, and concreted over. The other will be under the units so won't be visible. So tiling and getting a wooden effect floor down is the next job. They have done well.

Jon cooked jacket potatoes for dinner. Now we are just chilling in front of the TV...we have opted for Queen on BBC2 rather than Blankety Blank on BBC1...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.