Lone worker

I woke on and off from 6 but got up at 8.30 and after a quick breakfast thought I was going to be able to get out to get on with the painting. However, the rain was a bit too heavy. It tailed off by 10 enough for me to do a second coat on most of the white paint. It was spitting, so I shouldn't really have been out there but there was a bit of an overhang at the top where we had removed the gutter yesterday. Desperate to at least get another coat on that horrible bit of rotten wood, I just did it. The rain did almost stop, so I continued with all the wood getting another coat. When Manda arrived, we rather rashly painted the 4th garage door because we had rubbed it down yesterday. But the overnight rain affected how well it went on, and we were disappointed with the result, especially as it started to rain again.

Manda took this photo of me as she left to spend a the last few hours of the weekend with her family. This was about 3pm. I finished rubbing down the last garage door with the metal sander attachment on dad's electric drill. Then had another chat with the neighbour opposite, giving him a ball park price to rent a garage. Hopeful that he could be our first customer. Manda hopes to come back in the week and paint the last garage.

My back, neck, hands and just about everything ached by the time I had finished. Manda had brought us some casserole for dinner. I then had a bath and watched last night's Strictly on my ipad.

I'm going to get up really early tomorrow to get home in time for work....I hope! Its been a busy, tiring but productive weekend. Need to go to bed earlier tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.