Tree decorating

The house has been such a mess today, with the annual Christmas decorating ritual. When getting the stuff out of the loft we found loads more condensation and lots of the loft contents very wet again. We first had this problem last winter and are not sure why it should suddenly be happening. The biggest victim is my wedding dress. Even in a box, inside 2 plastic bags, the water got in and now the dress is mouldy on the front and horribly stained elsewhere. But after the horrible things that have happened to us in recent times, I have been pragmatic and not got stressed about it. It is never going to be worn again, and as it is approaching 33 years now since our wedding, I'm ready for it to go...although I may take it apart to keep/reuse/upcycle some of the pink silk. I thinknit is beyond cleaning. Sad to see. It really was a proper 80s dress. The veil is fine so maybe will get used again one day!!

I also threw out the spare duvets and pillows. All soaked. Then covered everything with a huge tarp after mopping up as much water as I could. Meanwhile Mollie, Henry and Josh got the tree out and decorated it. It looks lovely.

The day seems to have flown. Mollie took Josh home, then Dan joined us for dinner. We have been discussing timings for our trip to Manchester on Tuesday for Mollie's graduation. We are praying the weather doesn't stop us, but we are going to leave very early.

Now I'm making a few mice for my remaining walnut shells, before bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.