Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

New Swing

Today. No run, because legs still tender; well, particularly the left leg, with the knotty calf, is still tender from it. I was going to ride to the gym, but I didn't. I did have a ride with the kids, and later on up to the plant shop (though they didn't have what I was after), so that was some activity.

I also went to the hardware shop, got some wood, cut it to size, managed after aaaaaages of searching to find a drill bit, drilled holes, and fixed the kids' swing - thus this photo.

Large here, and here a black and white version; Mrs tsuken and I agreed that both colour and B&W were good, so Miss 7 had the deciding vote, and she was definite in her preference for colour.

While I'm at it, here's another B&W of the boy on the swing.

While I was at the replacing of the split base of the swing, I had a go at fixing the fact that when swinging it tends to go in ever-increasing circles - which has resulted (so far only once) in crashing into the trunk of the tree. There was unhappiness then, I tell you what. Anyhoo, what I did was climb the tree, reach out to the chains holding the swing, and push them farther apart. Then climb down; thankfully I managed that. It does seem to have worked, which makes me a bit happy.

Ok, back to A Dance with Dragons - the last extant "Song of Ice and Fire" book (aka Game of Thrones, as much as that's just the first book). I have to say, I very much liked Cersei's predicament at the end of A Feast for Crows, and I'm a smidge annoyed or disappointed that since "Dragons" is covering the same time period, just following different characters, I'll not find out for ages whether she manages to survive or even escape. Gotta say I hope not; she is one of the few primary characters with utterly no redeeming features. Whatsoever. And I want her done. Gone. Over. Mrs tsuken and I were discussing it, and we agreed that if she were to somehow find herself in the zombie hands of "Lady Stoneheart"... oh what joy that could bring. xP

Of course, this is George R. R. Martin. Apparently Tyrion is one of his own favourite characters ... and yet Tyrion is loathed, despised, generally crapped on, massive achievements denied and in fact he still gets vilified, gets his face split open and nose chopped off while being hella-brave (and still gets mocked and put down for it), gets falsely accused of regicide, imprisoned, and has to flee the kingdom. And that's the author's favourite character. Sadly, I can imagine that he might see fit to have Cersei survive; he's just that unpredictable.

The bugger.

Anyway - off to the book now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.