LOW WOOD BAY HOTEL AND SPA RESORT WINDERMERE

Backblipped - Photos taken on 25th November, blipped on 26th November.


A pleasant day of contrasts today.  The initial plan was to go to Gillam's in Ulverston for G to have his annual Christmassy Rum Hot Chocolate with some of their home-made tea bread.  On arrival there was a group of about 8 women outside all waiting to be seated together and it was taking ages and no-one else could get in in the meantime - so we just decided to move on.

We used to love The Mad Hatter's Tea Rooms as well but that has now closed down, so where else to go.  We walked on up to The Market Square when we noticed a new cafe called Cobblestones.  So we tried that.  It was very pleasant.  They only have a few tables downstairs but we managed to get one tucked away in front of the counter.  It is a mix of Victorian and new. 

After this refreshment G went over to the Oxfam Bookshop whilst I went to look at some cards.  After this the town had started to get busy - not horrendous just busy, but for some reason I started to feel really uncomfortable about it.  It's annoying because it's the sort of busy that I used to like, you know enough to give it atmosphere but room to breathe.

Anyway we decided we didn't really need to do anything else so we moved on.  I drov up past Esthwaite Water - we thought about stopping in Hawkshead but decided against and ended up on the shores of Windermere at The Blue Smoke on The Bay at the Low Wood Bay Hotel and Spa resort.  It's somewhere I've been meaning to try for sometime.

The head waiter looked us up and down and said they're not doing light lunches there just large meals - is that what you want - so undeterred we said yes.  "blinkink' cheek".  Anyway it was a very nice lunch - I just had one of their super food salads with some streak strips.  

We then had a walk around the hotel public areas and nipped over the road to their lawned area for a walk around before heading home.

On the way home I started having severe stomach pains - and then remembered - super foods - as much as I love them because it was quite a large plateful my tummy can't take it - so I suffered a bit I'm afraid.  This has happened to me a couple of times before but I just forgot - shouldhave stuck to the stodge shouldn't I!!??

Anyway I didn't feel too good last night so had an early night and ended up not blipping - so here I am catching up today.

Do take care everyone, stay safe and see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.