Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

What mixed weather

We have had a day of such mixed weather - sunshine one minute and rain the next, and it is very windy. Tomorrow the forecast is for a high of 3C and sleet showers, which is not surprising given how cold it felt today. This was taken between the showers when I went out to get a few groceries.

Many people seemed surprised at how busy London looked like from my photo yesterday. In my opinion that is what I expect in a major city with a large population as it transitions from a pandemic to an endemic, and this could only happen due to our excellent vaccination program early on in this crisis. The entire point of the vaccinations is that we can return to a 'normal' life, even if the virus is still around, as we cannot stay in a bubble for the rest of our lives, as scary as it seems. Not to say we don't live with precautions, I think those are still necessary although many of course don't bother anymore, whereas I still choose to. Lately I hear of so many people getting Covid at the moment, but thanks to being vaccinated they generally do not get very ill. For those not vaccinated or with pre-existing conditions they are not so lucky. So that is all good until along comes another variant, which is what normally happens with viruses as intrinsically they mutate, and now this latest variant from South Africa seems to be deeply concerning. Thankfully this time our government, and many others, have acted quickly and issued a travel ban on those countries where the new virus exists, which hopefully will contain the spread of this new mutation.

And on that note, Gavin and I had our Covid booster jabs today. I found mine quite painful, he didn't feel a thing. With both my first and second vaccines I suffered with the side effect of nausea, and I am feeling a teeny bit queasy now - although that could all be in my head! Our first two vaccines were Astra Zeneca and this booster was Pfizer which I am pleased about, as I have read very good reports about mixing the two vaccines, getting the best of both worlds so to speak.

Tonight - no cooking, but a take away from our local Italian restaurant.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.