JeanSnaps

By JeanSnaps

After the storm.

Woke up to sunshine and a very cold morning but the storm had mostly passed.  Went out to have a look. Nothing too bad. Bins blown over but at least the contents had stayed inside.  A couple of slates which I think are mine but it's hard to see.  Need to get my binoculars out.  It was still windy so I stayed put till later on.  Andy's cleaning my car tomorrow and wants home made stollen which I haven't got.  I may make some marzipan buns but knowing me they could be a disaster so I plan to go to Loch Leven's Larder.  But first I went to Charlottetown.  The road I usually take was closed so I think trees must have come down in Heatherhall Woods.  When I got to Charlottetown gravelpit I found trees had been uprooted there too.  I'm quite surprised as it's usually fairly. sheltered.  Didn't walk far as my knee's getting grumpy and made off to Loch Leven's Larder sticking to main roads.  The shop was quite busy and I couldn't see stollen anywhere.  Bought lots of nibbles, a little pannetone and a Cook ready meal then Bingo !   I found some stollen.  Came home just as the sun set and did my best to hide all my goodies away in the hope that I'll forget about them until Christmas.  My calendars arrived and look good plus bottles of sloe gin for Margaret and Linda.   Actually wrapped one of the presents I'm giving on Tuesday and made a much better job of it than I usually do.  Maybe the same will happen with the marzipan buns !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.