Getting ready for Advent

I managed to get through a lot of life before realising that there are two advents - the advent of the advent calendar, which always starts on the 1 December, and the religious Advent, involving Sundays and varying in length depending on just how the Sundays fall in relation to Christmas Day.  Truth be told I've never been that interested in Advent, but especially not in advent calendars (Bah Humbug!) so I naturally gravitated to the more religious first Sunday in Advent, despite not being very religious either.
Which is a very long-winded way of saying tomorrow is the first Sunday in Advent and Janet, much more versed in such things, has been getting the house ready.
We have both been slowed down by our booster Covid jab, or by the flu jab, both of which we got yesterday. Neither of us is really sick, but both of us are tired and have been lethargic all day, with a bit of extra achiness.  However, I'll happily accept a couple of slow days now rather than a dose of flu or Covid later.
Anyway, not having felt like roaming the forests today, and with Advent in mind, I took an interior shot. This is one of several candle-holders on the wall near my bed. Lying in bed, in the cosiness of candlelight, is something of a treat, especially if there are 4 or 5 candles burning.
It's not yet 9 o'clock but I think we'll soon be heading upstairs and once up there I'll soon be asleep.
Tomorrow I'll be more lively!
On the 8 November I wrote that the freeze had arrived, though probably not the Big Freeze. Now, 19 days later, I can see I was wrong. The average temperature since then has been under freezing, just now it's -12°, and the ten day forecast shows temperatures between -3 and -15°. The Big Freeze has arrived!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.