Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Reflections in Glasgow

After a good night's sleep, (Premier Inn beds are the best even if the hotels are not all as good as Kings Cross), I had breakfast and started my journey home. 

It was not straightforward.

Next to my hotel was Glasgow Charing Cross station. I bought a ticket for Glasgow Central. (I had booked myself on the first train going to Carlise at 0936). I went to the platform directed but when the train came, it was going to Queen Street.

Back up to the ticket seller. "You'd be better walking" he said and refunded by £1.05 fare. "It's all downhill" he said. It was nearly true.

I arrived in quite good time but the queue for the train was about 3 deep and snaked across the concourse, down one street, around the corner until I was about a quarter of a mile from the train. Everyone had a story to tell about their cancelled journeys. 

Eventually the queue moved. As I finally reached a train door, the warning buzzer sounded the door started to close. The space just inside was full of people. I lunged forward and stopped the door with my arm. Then they shuffled up and I was able to get on. Phew!

We stood for about 20 minutes then the very lovely guard came to say that he had cleared seats and we should go to sit down. 

As we travelled south we entered a snowy world. The landscape looked beautiful, but there was a lot of snow.

In the meantime, Brian and Margaret (across the road) set out for Carlisle to meet me. There was a serious accident at Brampton so they could not get through.

Amazingly, there was a train running on the Tyne Valley line and I bought a ticket. Brian and Margaret met me at Hexham. Phew!

There was no snow here. It was sunny.

All around our village, there have been power outages, but not in Humshaugh (so far).

It's lovely to be home.

My blip was taken in Glasgow this morning. I liked the reflections and I liked the way the glass made me look very tall and very thin!

Most of our group have made it home, but two are stuck in Thurso until the trains restart tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.