Sketchbook

A snowy frosty night.
I went to my gate at 3am this morning with a cuppa tea, and looked up and down my road. The gritter had been and gone on the main road.
All Blackpool illuminations were off.
So peaceful and quiet. 
But I was struck how cold the street lights looked.
Last night when I looked out from my gate the street lamps gave out a yellow warm glow. Not so this morning. I wouldn't have been surprised if a vampire had tapped me on the shoulder....

Creative today...
I came straight in. Made a coffee. Got under my warm electric blanket. But I didn't have the broad calligraphy pen I wanted. No way I was getting back out of bed. The Pentel pen was not going to do what I wanted. That is virtually waterfast  the moment it touches paper. But I had a Japanese fude pen, which is not bristles like the Pentel pen, but has a nice flexible tip for calligraphy. I tested it, and it did bleed a little when sprayed with water. So, a quick impromptu sketch with 3 things in mind - the crescent moon, street lamps, and black inky night. But by the time I had finished the sketch (15 mins), it had dried a bit much for the water spray to have as much effect as I wanted. But the ink moved a bit. Next time half this A5 sketch, or a thumbnail sketch. And I used candle wax after scribbling it, and before spraying with water.

This reminds me of the graphic novel/short stories, It's Dark in London a bit. I have the original 1996 version somewhere. Last time I saw it, it was at the bottom of a drawer...somewhere...I need to find it...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.