Sketchbook

Yesterday when I went out in the back garden, the sparrows were waiting for me.
Their feeders had been wrecked by the ferocious wind of Storm Arwen, either blown off, stolen by the wind etc...

Miss Blackbird was mithering me as well.

Fortunately I had some spare feeders and got them up. The sparrows were delighted.

But Miss Blackbird was still mithering me. She was hopping by my feet. She wanted the cat biscuits, so I went and got some. And she is eating them as I am trying to pour them in the cat bowls. She got first dibs before the stray cats. Ginger was waiting hidden in the bushes. He knows my birds are off limits to him (they all do, but I am still training Calico who hates and flees  at the sound of the dog bark/screech/and other noise I play the moment she even looks at a bird). Miss Blackbird had her fill and flew off. So Ginger comes up and rubs his body all over the concrete all over my shoes and all round the bowl of cat biscuits. He had his fill. Then along came Mr Robin and Mrs Wren. So, Ginger's plan to scare off the birds with his scent didn't work. I don't think birds have scent glands in the way cats and humans do.

I have no idea why Miss Blackbird is so friendly and has no fear of me. She also appears to act as 'mother' to the sparrows, and keeps a look out when the sparrows are on the ground. She also feeds alongside the sparrows, and is friendly with them.

Not so with Mr Blackbird. This will never be a match made in heaven with Miss Blackbird. Mr Blackbird hates those sparrows with a passion. He caws like a rook, and shouts 'Mine, mine, mine', at every sparrow that approaches the feeders. He looks so vicious. Do the sparrows take any notice of him? Absolutely not! The sparrows fly all around him so he is unable to get a bite off those fatballs. These sparrows are very good at hovering mid-air right in front of Mr Blackbird within centimetres of his yellow beak shouting obscenities at those sparrows. Mr Blackbird cannot move or lunge or he will lose the perch on the bird feeder to dozens of sparrows who have a ringside view on the next branch...

I think I need to have a mother-daughter conversation with Miss Blackbird on the suitability of her suitor....


Creative for today...
Candle wax to create the moon first.
A disposable scratchy old fountain pen scribbling a tree.
Sprayed with a little water in a fine mister.

Time for coffee...
And a nap...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.