WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

The chapel in the woods

I finally managed to go on the Tuesday walk again, over a month after the last time. We were a crowd, around 25 of us, but that's hardly surprising given what a lovely day it was: cold and sunny, with a bit of a breeze. We set off from Boutenac and walked up to this little chapel in the woods, built above the grotto once occupied by Saint Simeon.

The return route was a bit free-flowing, as leader F kept changing her mind about which way to go, and we then ended up on a path that wasn't the one she intended to be on (they are all a bit samey). But we weren't lost, oh dear me no! She always knew where we were. It did make it a bit longer: 9.3 km, 180 m climbing, 3 hours; we got back to the cars just in time to beat the dusk. 

It was a good walk, but I'm so unfit I was a bit knackered, and also chilly. It was nice to wrap my hands round a hot mug of tea by the fire when I got home. Up next: pizza, to save me cooking the lamb stew that has been marinating since this morning :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.