WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Make it stop!

More vines. But I have to work with what is available.

Yesterday the heavy outer layer of glass on the oven door came loose without warning, while I was taking something out of the hot oven, but luckily remained attached at the top (the top has screws, but rather surprisingly the bottom was glued on). So it didn't fall off in my hands and is still intact. 

However it meant I had to adapt my plans for cooking the bread I had started. We have a combi microwave/oven/grill that I've been using much more as a convection oven recently because it's so much cheaper to run than the main oven. It works really well for small things but is not ideal for a large loaf ... it took ages, and by the time the bottom was more or less cooked the top was somewhat burnt.

Later I found that part of the rope sealing the door of the woodburner had mysteriously disappeared, so S has a couple of jobs to do now.

Never mind! We had leftover pizza for lunch and are invited to A and B's for a St Andrew's Day dinner this evening.

And finally, here is Cécile McLorin Salvant with a lovely soundtrack for you. I stumbled across it on Facebook. I love the way she has perfect control over every syllable and nuance, making an old song sound new.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.