WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Lunch

We fancied a treat today, so S got his daily aerobic exercise cycling to Lagrasse and I sailed past him in the car. I'd booked a table at Le Bastion, which is definitely the best restaurant in Lagrasse, by some distance. No need to reserve ... they did four covers.

This is my main course. The fish was called maigre, not one I've heard of, but it was delicious, with large, firm flakes, served with sumptuous lemony beurre blanc. It's like hake, said the waitress, but when I googled it I found that it's what is called corvina in Spanish, which I am familiar with -- it's more like a large sea bass. Sorry about the quality of the photo ... it's all I have today.

S was too full to cycle back, but I had anticipated this and come in Bruno the roomy Peugeot, so we shoved the bike in the back and drove back. A quick stop off at home before heading to the pharmacy in Fabrezan, for a Covid booster for S and flu jabs for both of us.

It's been cold today (by our standards) and we can't light the fire because the glue S used for the door seal this morning needs 24 hours to set. We also can't use the oven because the glue for the broken door needs three days ... I got so cold (effect of the flu jab maybe?) that I went and lay in a hot bath for an hour. Now we're wrapped up in S's super duper sub-zero sleeping bags finishing our lunchtime bottle of wine with Picard nibbles cooked in the combi oven. We do have everything we need to survive winter!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.