WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Weathered

We've had a couple of days of sunshine and showers, and this dilapidated gate had been washed clean and was shining in the sun. It leads into the garden of one of the many empty houses in the centre of the village. It's become increasingly like a doughnut as older people living in their family's homes die or move into residential care, and new arrivals build houses on the outskirts. In our square there are now five occupied houses out of ten. Tagging for Derelict Sunday, which I haven't done for ages. I think of SarumStroller whenever I do. Thanks Marlieske for hosting it.

I finally made an acceptable sourdough loaf after several disappointing efforts ... I'm not doing it often enough to maintain the skills. This one was a marathon, as despite starting it in the early afternoon yesterday, it wasn't ready to shape by bedtime. So I put it in the fridge, removed it this morning, and it then took nearly all day to double in size. Into the oven at gone four o'clock! Will be taste-tested later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.