FENWICKS

Didn't sleep well but I managed to get up when the alarm went off and was ready when my sister in law arrived at 9am.  My appointment was at 10am but we decided to allow plenty of time.  Good job we did as there were road works and a road closure which meant we had to find another route.  Arrived at the hospital around 9.50am.  Went up to the Vascular Surgery Day Ward.  Had a bit of a wait before the nurse came to see me.  Got into a very fetching gown and then went to the procedure room.  The surgeon was there as well as another surgeon who was supervising  - and the nurse.  First of all I had to lie on my tummy for the procedure to the back of the bottom part my left leg.  Not the most comfortable of positions to stay in for 20 mins or so - especially with a sore neck..  Lots of injections of local anaesthetic followed as well as incisions so that catheters could be inserted.  Then probes were fed into the catheters.  The probes heated the " bad " veins sealing them shut.  None of this was very pleasant.  Then I lay on my back so that the top of the leg could be done.  More local anaesthetic injections and incisions etc - and fluid pumped under the skin.  At one point the surgeon was having real trouble pinpointing the vein to " zap " it.  She tried for ages. Apparently when veins are worked on too much they shrivel up small making things more difficult.  So the guy who was supervising  (obviously a senior surgeon ) had to quickly " scrub up " and take over for the last bit.  Even he struggled but he succeeded in the end.  Then it was over.

But not quite.  One of the incisions in my lower leg started spurting blood.  So they had to hold my leg up high and then wait a bit till the flow lessened. Then they put a tight bandage around my leg.  I had to keep the bandage on for 20 mins so I went into a small room to wait - and I was brought a cup of coffee and a biscuit.

Then the bandage was removed  - thankfully the bleeding had stopped. Next a long compression stocking was fitted.  It goes from my toes right to the top of my leg.  Have to keep it on for 24 hrs.  Then I need to wear it for 2 weeks just in the daytime. Its going to be fun trying to get it on and off!.   An appointment has been booked for the other leg to be done at the end of February.  At least I know what to expect next time.

I've added a collage showing my bandaged leg, NHS crockery ( the coffee was quite nice ) the box my compression stocking came in and the Christmas tree outside the hospital.

As I had been told that walking is good to prevent DVT I decided to get the bus into central Newcastle, have a wander and then get the bus home. So I phoned my sister in law to tell her she didn't need to collect me.

As I was passing Fenwicks Department store I decided to take a photo as the Wide Wednesday challenge is " store front ". Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting.  As usual there was a queue of people passing by the Christmas windows.  Even though Ive seen the windows before I decided to take another look.  The group in front of me were some sweet little nursery age children.  They really enjoyed seeing Shaun the sheep.

Then some food shopping in Waitrose before getting the bus home.  I got home around 2.30pm. I was feeling rather weary so I just settled down on the sofa and watched TV.

Weather today was rainy and much colder than it was yesterday.

Steps today - 8,174

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.