Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Twofer

By the happiest of coincidences, both of these house finches were perched on the same focal plane which allowed me to get both in focus in a single shot.  That rarely happens!  And, it nicely shows the difference between male and female.  This particular male has quite a bit of red on him and I've red that females show a preference for redder males when choosing a mate for the breeding season.  

Charlie arrived home last night a bit groggy from the anesthesia but is fine today.  They had to extract two teeth so he is on liquid antibiotics twice a day, which he utterly hates.  And, of course, it falls to me to try to squirt the liquid into him.  Sigh.  Fortunately, he forgives me fairly fast.

Jax has been his usual loveable self today, veering between extreme napping and extreme playing.  We took him for about a mile walk - he's still not very good on a leash and tugs like crazy, or stops suddenly  because something has caught his fleeting attention.  This will be addressed when he starts his obedience classes later in the month.  Meanwhile, I am working with him on "come" and "sit".  

Getting some things moved off my "to do" list today, mostly office work.  Jax is currently sleeping on his bed on the futon/sofa in my office which is allowing me to plow through some work without wondering what path of destruction he's working on.  

Dark with ginger today.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.