Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

New Friends, Old Friends

It was a sunny and bitterly cold day. I spent much of it indoors, unpacking, doing laundry, and getting caught up on some admin. Finally I went out for a walk and timed it perfectly. I walked along a path I don’t walk along very often, and found these three lovely ponies. They were off at a distance but soon came over to say hello. They seemed very friendly. I hope they’re warm enough in those coats!

There are still colourful leaves hanging on in places. I love that they seem late in falling this year. We need the colour as long as we can! The sunset was gorgeous and I’m glad I went out. Ooh, but it was cold!!

I also spent some time looking at some old photos today - see Extra photo. This is the family friend who recently passed away and the reason I went to Devon earlier this week. I found a few old photos taken in the 60s. I’m sure there are more somewhere. They and my parents worked together in Switzerland and we lived in the same apartment building in Geneva. I went to school and played with their children. That’s me to the right in the bottom left picture, with their daughter. I remember being so so sad when we eventually moved to the US and I had to leave my friends behind. This family provided some of my earliest childhood memories and the mum was like a second mum to me. When my dad died when I was 19, my mum and I were invited to visit them in Switzerland and we had such a wonderful holiday with people we loved. Such wonderful memories!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.