La vida de Annie

By Annie

DEP Bob, ??? - 2021

Today was a pretty awful day. First up was making the decision to euthanize Bob, my partner's dog but very much part of the household. Yorkies have come and gone in his time with us, but he has taken it all in his stride and was the most gentle and good-natured dog you could hope to meet. He loved chasing sticks and balls into the sea, scaling enormously high walls and generally living life to the full. Everyone he met liked him, and usually fed him treats, which often led to him turning up at people's doors "on the cadge". He once nosed into an elderly local lady's shopping bag, and she smiled and patted him and handed over what was her lunch. He did have the big pleading brown eyes which no-one could resist. A few months ago he was diagnosed with congestive heart failure, which resulted in him no longer being able to go on long walks without collapsing. Tablets helped for a while, but a few days ago he refused all food and his meds, and was really struggling to breathe. We don't know how old he was, as we got him from the rescue centre in Mahon on this day. He was probably in his teens, so had a long and active life. A free spirit, he must have hated it in a concrete cell in the pound, but had a good life with us.

Next up was an appointment for me at the health centre for my booster covid jab - they're using Moderna for all the boosters although I had AstraZeneca for the first two. I asked about flu jabs and once the nurse confirmed my advanced age she said I could have it in the other arm, which I did. Later in the day I had arms like Popeye.

Finally, and in lashing rain, we had a power cut in the evening. Luckily I was somewhat out of it by then and was quite happy with candles and a charged kindle. This  was the only house affected and was two blown main fuses in the locked box on the street, which also serves two other houses (currently empty). No idea what was the cause but expect a hefty bill from the contractor once he's done a permanent fix - today's was bodged.

For Christmas I want better days than this, please.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.