Charity gifts

My niece alerted me to the latest trend – giving gifts from charity shops.
 
So I went in search this afternoon and bought this decorative night lighter for £5 from our local hospice shop, still with its original packing. Naturally I googled it and discovered it retails for £12. 
 
While it may be trendy to give charity shop gifts I still feel a bit squeamish about doing so. It has whiff of miserliness about it, and Scrooge comes to mind.
 Maybe this stems from two occasions when female relatives, who shall remain nameless, gave me unwanted gifts.
 
How did I know? The scarf reeked of her perfume and the second was an ornamental glass object I took back to Marks and Spencer only for them to tell me they had not stocked it for at least five years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.