Yes!

Unexpected surprise. I bought these earrings I reckon 3 years ago. I thought they’d look great worn at a fun social event like a festival. I didn’t wear them and then the pandemic hit and all festivals were cancelled.

Tested them for Bakelite and they didn’t give a positive result so I decided to store them and consider what to do.

They are very big hoops. The hooks are tiny (very vintage) and need replacing. I wore them and decided they are far too big hoops to suit me.

This morning during a clear out I decided to finally sell them as I won’t wear them.

As I paced around the house thinking how to describe them beyond ‘big brown hoop earrings’ I started rubbing the plastic between my fingers and as the plastic warmed the chemical formaldehyde smell began to fill my nostrils! I ran to get my simichrome paste and a cotton bud. Sure enough they tested positive for Bakelite. Wow. What a surprise. Hidden treasure! Found only 1 pair that were the same that sold for $75 in America a few months back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.