Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

We have raked up the leaves in the garden and packed them into the garden bin. We have pruned the magnolia so it no longer rubs against the power supply line, and we have arranged some of the magnolia branches in the style of an indoor tree in the lounge ready for twinkly lights and baubles to be added later.
Then out for a walk locally where we had a conversation with some sheep and separately, a cat, who had been pretending to be stuck in a small tree.

Here's some lovely fluffy clematis.

Last night we went for a walk to see this (extra). It's an annual event in aid of charity and I am told that some local businesses donate the illuminations and others donate towards the cost of the energy bill.
I think we should be encouraging darkness, an absence of wasted energy, an absence of light pollution, so that we can see real stars. So I didn't put a penny in the collection box.

2019: It was only 16 days after he had arrived home to find my SIM card and instructions on how to run the business that he hired the most eye-wateringly expensive divorce lawyer. Technically, if your spouse deserts you, you may not apply for a divorce until they have been absent for two years, but if they have been adulterous or presented some other unreasonable behaviour (physical violence, verbal abuse) you may apply for a divorce immediately. His expensive lawyer decided that I had abandoned him unreasonably and was going to get the ball rolling without delay.
Well I wasn't going to fight against that now was I! If he was going to pay extra to get it over with more quickly the better all round. We got our decree nisi in December 2018 and in January 2019 the financial wrangling began. I had split the cash in all the bank accounts exactly down the middle when I had left, and I had told him that he could keep the entire Greek property (1½ acres, farmhouse, rental cottage, plunge-pool) that we had bought together and that I had established as a really successful little business, and I would keep only the little flat over-a shop I had bought long before I met him.
But oh no no no no! He was after having half the value of the flat and half my pension too thank-you-very-much. The gloves came off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.