Sunshine

A sunny day in
December is always a
very welcome day

~ carliewired

I was up early, as usual, sipping my coffee and waiting to see what kind of a day we would have. At 7:30 I was out on my snowy deck taking photos of the colour in the east. 

We received another inch of  snow overnight. I waited until 8:30 to clear off the driveway. There were many fender benders yesterday with the fresh dump of snow, so I wasn't in a hurry to be on my way. I was concerned that the roads today might be as slippery as yesterday. 

It was below freezing overnight and was just -7 C when I was working on the driveway. I needed my gloves this morning and I pulled my toque down over my ears. The sun was beginning to warm things up and the sky was clear and blue. 

I drove off to Pioneer Park. The roads were in pretty good condition but I drove cautiously. I parked at the east end of the parking lot so I could take some photos of my mountains and the Red Bridge over the South Thompson River. It was a very quiet Sunday morning in the park. 

I walked the distance to the Railway Bridge and back. I caught the Canadian Pacific train crossing. The snow was crunchy under my feet. When I stopped to look over to Riverside Park I could see that the fencing around the renovations there has created something of a sanctuary for the waterfowl. They have congregated along the shoreline in great number. The ducks and Canada geese have always liked that area. Today, even the trumpeter swans were mixing in there. They are the least interested in being near humans.

I was home before 10:30 and will remain until I go to my daughter's for dinner. It is lovely to have all that beautiful sunshine pouring into my house this morning. 

We have the promise of a mostly sunny day with a high of 0 C. We can expect a low of -7 C overnight and some more snow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.