Ducks in Snow

Four inches of fresh
snow must had delighted the
skiers this morning! 

I slept in until 8 this morning. When I looked out at all that white on my deck I knew I'd best dawdle a bit and let the morning sort itself out. I had to clear my double driveway for the third day in a row. This snowfall was as much as the previous two combined. It takes about 30 minutes to move it off my driveway. 

I had an appointment for a haircut at 11:30. With that completed, I was off to McArthur Island to see how the ducks would be faring. It was -4 C and the sky was beginning to clear. 

I could see that there was just one open patch free of ice just below the foot bridge. The mallards had congregated at the south end of the bridge. As I walked up to the bridge I could hear a senior lady telling off two young lads who were on the bridge. I didn't see what they had done but I suspect they were throwing snowballs at the ducks. She was telling them in no uncertain terms that they were NOT to harass the wildlife in the park. To their credit, the boys answered her respectfully and moved along. 

The ducks rooted through the snow in hopes of finding food. Perhaps someone had left something for them yesterday there. I could not see what they could be finding. We're not to feed the ducks in the park, according to the bylaw. I know people do anyway. 

I walked across the bridge to get a shot of my mountains, now looking lovely in the afternoon sun. I could see my old pickup parked near the Butterfly Garden, now well covered in snow. 

I stopped on the north shore for groceries and then headed home.

I'm in for the day just puttering around. I have appreciated the sunshine again today. Could we be so lucky again tomorrow?

The forecast is for a high of -2 C today and a low of -7 C overnight with some light snow. Looks like I will be clearing the driveway again tomorrow! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.