Advent chaos

Advent means arrival and on the second Sunday of advent my few Christmas decorations came out of their boxes. They are all connected with light, the advent star, the big one is facing the street and makes the house less dark to look at from there, the second star is smaller and gets to light up the kitchen entrance from the kitchen window. The candle holder for the four candles is on the kitchen table where I have my breakfast and the electric, five "candle" holder is in the workroom, facing the entrance to give a welcome to the few visitors.

I went to the theatre this evening to see a performance by an artist I like to listen to, a female stand-up comedienne called Sissela Kyhle. As one of the staff I can go in for free and find an empty seat somewhere. I soon noticed that the staff working this evening had problems at the entrance because the regulations from the first of December says that every visitor has to show a Covid pass and an id to get in and this procedure took a long time and engaged all three of the staff working so no one had a chance to "host" the audience already in, showing them where to sit, answering questions etc, so I got my jacket on and took care of that as much as I could. Unlucky for us, this was a sold out performance and also the first time we had to check every person coming in. To make it even worse, it was a double performance, both sold out, which meant that at the same time as three hundred people were leaving after the first show, fetching their overcoats in the foyer, the next group of three hundred people wanted to get in from the freezing cold outside, passing the very same foyer. Chaos is a mild expression. I left after the first show because I wasn't supposed to work this evening, I offered to stay but none of the bosses thought that was necessary. The arrival of a three hundred head audience can sometimes be slightly unwanted, but I'm sure they handled it as well as they could. I will find out what the evaluation from this evening says next week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.