Making a bit of a splash

Buttercup came and woke me at about 0600 this morning. The plan was to keep him and T Rex inside until we were ready to head south. Yeah Right!

To smooth the process I tried giving them both a little bit of food. Hoovered in seconds. Then all was sweet. T Rex popped downstairs to daughter J's room (when she is here) and Buttercup decided to play with various cat toys and everything else he could find. They remained pleasantly distracted for all of ten minutes, and then went to leave by the cat door. Which this time I had locked properly.

Oh my goodness!! The human is locking us in. That can only mean a car trip. We hate car trips. Race from door to door in case stupid human left one open. Yowl loudly (Buttercup); he may let us out. Tap pathetically on the locked cat door (T Rex); that didn't get them let out either.

After almost an hour of this I decided I had to take them then; or never. Made S a pot of coffee, loaded said cats into car and headed south entertained all the way by their singing in the back seat. In my haste to leave, I neglected to take any of their food with them. Neither daughter minded, as they rescued their cats from the nasty man who put them in a car.

Came back, and returned to reorganising the study. With the help of S, we have created an inviting area around the desk, with carpet on the concrete floor, open space, an armchair to lounge on and read, another work surface with chair; and the stuff we don't yet know what to do with down the other end of the space.

In the process of doing this, I have "discovered" two boxes full of vinyl LPs; some excruciatingly unwanted now, and others are marvellous, and I want to get onto CDs. Also found (as it had been "lost" for ten years) the biscuit tin full of old 45s. They will be sorted and transferred to CDs.

Then, late in the afternoon, I went down to the beach, where the tide was almost at its lowest, and hunted birds. At least nine species seen; six photographed. This was S' favourite. Better in large.

Back to the city tomorrow

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.