Preparation

In the extra the result.

I mentioned in a blip last week that I might make a start on the mince pies. In the end I didn't. Yesterday my daughter who was visiting commented, rather archly I thought, that she hadn't had a SINGLE mince pie this year. The freezer is usually bursting with them by this time of year she continued. It's true, I've usually started by now.

I spent a miserable couple of hours yesterday evening postponing family Christmas visits - travel, busy places and mixing with the oldest generation feel risky again. Maybe that's why I just wasn't feeling it.

This morning I had a stern word with myself (I have NOTHING to moan about) and here is the upshot. I always make my own mince pies. It's possible to buy gluten free mince pies but they tend to be pasty heavy and filling light. They're a right crumbly challenge to make but they usually work out OK. The rolling pin and palette knife here are well over 40 years old but it's not as if they wear out. They still serve me well.

That's the first batch of 2021 made. There will more.

My grandson is on his way for Monday childminding. Busy day ahead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.