Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Early morning walk

I had to walk Xena earlier than usual today, as I had a morning doctors appointment - so I changed our routine and walked before breakfast, and luckily there was the most magnificent sunrise - not that you can see it properly from the woods, but we caught the after sunrise glow on the horizon as seen here.

The doctor thinks I have a stress fracture in my foot, it happened after three continuous days of running and in winter we are a bit short of Vit D so it seems likely. I need to get an X Ray to confirm that, but apparently a stress fracture usually doesn't show up on an X Ray until about 4 weeks after the injury, so I will wait a bit and see if it improves or not and then decide about the X Ray. What I have decided, though, is not to go to NHS for the X ray - a friend of Luke's broke his foot and waited about 6 hours for an X Ray after being told to come for an appointment, he was eventually sent home at 1am and told to come back the next day, which he did and waited another 4 hours or so until he got the X Ray. Meriel's dad also had to wait forever to get an X ray so I think it is best not to hang around hospitals for hours while Covid is everywhere. In the meantime I have to rest and not do any exercise and not even walk Xena but how is that going to work?

After the doctor I came home for a quick coffee and then went to the hairdresser, it was very much needed and I feel a whole lot better now.

Last night I decorated the Christmas tree and it looks lovely - if only it will stay as fresh as this until Christmas Day. For the first time I could actually smell that pine scent which is a treat, usually the trees we get don't have a good smell. I am not sure where the scouts get the trees from but they are of a wonderful quality.

We all received letters from the production company about the filming taking place in our neighbourhood (apparently for Netflix) - a house a short distance down the road is being used to film a crime scene, most of the filming is taking place inside the house but we have been told that from tomorrow there will be numerous actors playing roles as security and police, and not to get worried that an actual crime has taken place! Last week one of the roads in the next village was closed off for filming and I heard it was for a new drama called Marriage starring Sean Bean and Nicola Walker - not sure if this filming is for the same thing. I wouldn't mind bumping into Sean Bean when I walk Xena down the road...!!

Tommy finished his university term last week but is staying on to finish a project, so he will be coming home later this week after the deadline.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.