pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Shining

Having a day off work seems like such a good idea until you return to it to find an inbox so full that you can’t send anything.

I managed to clear some before remembering that I had to visit the office to collect some paperwork in advance of an overnight trip down South later this week. Because it was last minute, I hadn’t booked to go into the office and so pulled up outside with the window down, whilst a colleague came out and dropped some papers inside. We had a brief conversation before agreeing that to the outsider it could well appear that I was kerb crawling, so I should probably be on my way.

The afternoon passed in a blur of admin as I diligently worked my way through and then it was time to collect the children and slip into Dadman mode for Manic Monday. I don’t know why I bothered cooking them tea, they were chomping on toast when I collected them from after school club and then hot dogs and cake when I collected them from their Beavers/Cubs.

Somewhere in the middle the wee ones found time to do a cracking job in decorating the Christmas tree and we also did a drive-by visit of the lights at the house on High Tenterfell (extra).

The sparkling lights seemed quite apt after Spotify telling me today that my most played song of the year was Shine by Years & Years.

It’s only six years old, so I’m totally down with the kids. 

The kids from six years ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.