pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Through the clouds

In need of some fresh air and a change of scenery, I was up and out fairly early for a drive to Keswick.

George Harrison served as the soundtrack as I drove through The Lakes, the route of which was littered by a staggering amount of fallen trees off the back of storm Arwen. Some of the fallen were absolutely huge and it was a wonder that anything could have taken them down.

There was a small Christmas market in full swing when I arrived and as I moved through the crowds the unmistakeable smell of mulled wine hit my nostrils followed by roast chestnuts. It all felt quite Christmassy until an older man stood behind a microphone inside an inflatable tent started to sing The Mavericks “Dance The Night Away”.

I was quite relieved to get down to the lake (where I took this) and eventually pick up the path to lead me away from the crowds. I passed the curious sight of a dog clearly guarding their owner’s belongings whilst the owner took a dip in the lake. 

When in Keswick THE LAW is that jelly babies must be purchased from the confectioner; Friar’s, so I picked some up and then having spoken to Simmo, popped them through her letter box as she was having a difficult day.

The remainder of the day I rested, enjoying the women’s FA Cup final (Chelsea’s victory may help m’boy in dealing with the fact that the men’s team lost to my team; West Ham, on Saturday) and catching up on Money Heist.

Another busy week awaits.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.