Further my skills

By H0tamer

Not my favourite

Ties are not my favourite accessories. I loved to dress up, especially when I realised that I was looking good in a suit with tie. But I have always considered a tie old fashioned, a fashion from many years ago. Like the suits the bankers wear. All in uniform! And uniforms have never been my favourite.
The tie in the middle was the one I bought around 1989, when I was looking for another job. Some companies expected even a nerd to come in a suit, especially the German companies.
The other two I bought later. I liked ties that had a pattern, or were "funny". But since I only wore them when I was representing the company that paid my salary, I had to look serious, professional. Boring!
In 1989 and 1990 I had loads of customer contacts on-site, even as engineer. After I became manager these visits started to diminish, so it was no surprise that my last customer visit was in November 2014. From then on the contacts were virtual (phone, email). Hence no tie needed anymore (except for the mandatory black one, fortunately only occasionally).
Thanks to Laurie54 for hosting Mono Monday challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.