Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

Nostalgia

I decided this morning that it was time to clear out my "Quiet Room" as I was finding it difficult to get in there - and for that reason, haven't used it for sometime. It seems that everything gets put into "my" room from old printers and scanners, books that may be read one day and any other stuff that then stays there until someone (me) clears it out.

I love writing and wouldn't like to say how many pens I have around the house - and my favourite pen, my Parker 51, which I have had since I was 10 years old, seemed the ideal one to put with some writing which I did in 1985, and which I found in a book whilst clearing out.

I read a quote once that said "He (or she) who can read never clears out an attic." This is so true - a simple job took me ALL morning, but I recalled some lovely memories along the way. The sadness is that although I have searched the house, I cannot find my favourite pen - so I guess I need to do some more clearing and looking to find it.

We have our old Hi-fi system in my room, and this still has a tape deck, so I was listening to a tape of a service from way back in 1998 - it was strange to hear our own Minister's voice from 15 years ago - he was the Worship Leader (not the Minister) at the time, but I recognised him as soon as I heard him singing and of course, I joined in at the top of my voice - because I love singing too!

All our old photograph albums are in my room too, so as I looked through them, they brought back such precious memories - it's not quite the same looking at photographs on a computer screen, is it?

Back to the writing, though - there were lots of pieces in the book, which were very poignant and special to me, as in 1985 I was going through a challenging and difficult time, but this one stood out reminding me that I need to thank God for yesterday, leave tomorrow in His hands and live for Him today.

Easy enough to write, difficult to put into practice on my own, but with God by my side, I know I can do it.

P.S. In case you are wondering, this is one of my calligraphy pens - but I do hope I find my Parker!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.