Olive Tree

The olive tree is looking good. The sun came out at around noon and revealed a nice shadow on the wall behind it. 

David has been here all day hooking up all the appropriate bathroom fixtures. The valve that regulates the hot water temperature needs an 'extension' pipe. Whatever that is, it seems that it should have come with the rest of the parts but no, it has to be ordered separately. It has now been ordered. The installation instructions are in what David calls 'IKEA'.* Gives me a headache just looking at them.

I wandered aimlessly around the house trying to find a comfortable position. The best one seems to be lying on the floor with my legs on the seat of the Orkney chair in the bedroom. Spike came in and sat on my head. 

John took Spike for his favorite walk. It was perfect tick weather, cold and foggy, and he came back with one on his neck and one IN his ear! It's hard to spot ticks on a dog with long fur but the one on his neck was still walking around. He was frantically scratching his ear so I investigated and found the other one.  A good combing didn't turn up any more. Good thing  he likes it.
 
December 7th never passes that I don't think of both of my parents who were at Pearl Harbor when the bombs were dropped. I will spare you the story which I have told often enough, but now I always wish I had asked more questions. Their stories revealed the horrors of the situation, but also the fact that life in Hawaii afterwards was very different from what it was here on the mainland. Nobody was interned there,  as were many innocent Japanese citizens living on the West Coast. 

*extra

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.