Euthymia

Strava Day 191/75 Hard Off Phase Day 9.
Outdoor workout, reading plus two liters down. It was raining hard around 5 in the morning but am grateful it stopped just in time to go on my self-imposed scheduled outdoor brisk walk. Finding the 5:55 photo series somehow beneficial in a way that it guides my focus, helps me in deciding which photo to Blip and also gives some happy accidents.
***
It is apparently a National non-working holiday here because of the Feast of the Immaculate Concepción. I haven't heard mass in ages but am not in any way feeling guilty because of it. Silent prayers of gratitude daily is enough for my spirit.
***
Featured photo is the main church in our town. Happy that I captured the two girls in pink in time for Pink Wednesdays (it is election season here and pink is the color of the candidate I am supporting --- a rare time I am giving a fudge about candidates as despite me graduating with a Political Science degree, am most of the time apathetic towards government related concerns...not proud of it but it is my truth).
***
Euthymia is a word I came across in today's reading. It is a Greek word which translates as "tranquility" in English. According to Seneca, it is about being what you are, and being good as possible at it, without succumbing to all the things that draw you away from it. Upon a quick Google search, it is also apparently a term used for an in-between phase of patients with Bipolar disorder. I have more moments of calm these days while still having some season related feelings of melancholy. I'll take this over deliriously happy any day though.
***
Here's to you persevering and going forth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.