Panetonne

Here is a record of my first try at making this seasonal Italian bread. First we have the hard little golfball-size Biga. That's what it's called, and I don't know how to describe it. It's got a little yeast, so I guess I'd call it a pre-leavening. Frankly, it looked pretty hopeless, dry and crumbly and barely holding together. Then you mix in many many eggs, a large amount of butter, and a few other things, using a stand mixer. I wouldn't want to try doing this by hand. The resulting sticky pile is a size that can be more or less covered with your open hand, like a small brain, and it sits overnight. After all that butter and eggs, you just walk away and leave it.
The fourth photo is what blew me away this morning when I looked at the bowl--it had risen to the top of the container and would have galloped all over the room if that plastic wrap hadn't been tight across the top! More mixing, more waiting, and then it goes into paper molds. The big question is why the paper doesn't burn in the oven, and we probably will never know the answer. The take-away is that this is a perfectly adequate way to shape and bake. More rising, then into the oven, and then, a miracle: bread! The loaves have to cool upside down so they don't sink! In go the skewers, and over goes the loaf, another act of faith. And then, there they are--two lovely loaves of panetonne with chocolate and orange accents.

Oh, and it tastes pretty good too...

I've already got a couple ideas of what to change for next time, so, yeah, I'd make it again. It takes about a day and a half if you're adding it all up. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.