THE NORTH WIND DOTH BLOW.....

......and we will have snow
and what will the Robin do then poor thing
He'll sit in a barn
and keep himself warm
and hide his head under his wing poor thing

'The North Wind doth blow' is British in its origins and believed to have originated in the 16th century history. ... The purpose of the words to 'The North Wind doth blow' is to ensure that a child associates security with home whilst empathising with the plight of the robin.


Apparently there is an 1805 version that has 5 verses to this poem, going through birds, animals and finishing with children. 


I have to admit to be very fond of robins.  My three favourite birds are robins, owls and blue tits.  I really don't know why it's just the way it is. I've always loved this little verse.


Well I didn't have Tai Chi today instead I went to the Westmorland General Hospital in Kendal for a Breast Screening.   Glad that's over with, hopefully everything is OK.


I noticed a dusting of snow on the very trips of the fells but didn't go off with the camera afterwards.  It's strange but with Omicron now rearing it's head I felt a bit uncomfortable going into a hospital, but I was fully masked plus sanitised my hands several times.


On the way home I saw a beautiful full rainbow so pulled into a layby to take a photo.  Unfortunately (well sort of) the sky was so blue I couldn't get the clarity of it (as you can see from the extras).  Of course typically I got back in the car the blouds came over and it rained and the rainbow was stunning but it was raininng too heavy and didn't want to risk getting the camera wet and did not have my wide angle lens with me.


That's all for today, do take care and stay safe and I will see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.