MISTY MOUNTAINS

I really wanted to go for a  drive today, despite the grey weather.  I just needed to be out of the four walls for a wee while.  I didn't fancy a walk either, the weather was just putting me off.

Hubby didn't want to, he had things to do.  G was too wobbly.  So I took one of my Miss Silver Murder Mystery audio books and headed up The Lakes.  I  haven't been up there since February.  

I went up the M6, waved to Sweetheart Woods as I drove past.  I left the M6 at Junction 40 and just drove along the  A66, drove through Keswick, which seemed really busy with shoppers but I would think everyone were socially distancing when they could.  

I nipped along to Derwentwater and just had a stroll in part of the park there and then along the shore.  This part was pretty quiet, although quite a few cars in the car park - probably all out walking.  I would have thought the cafe would have been open for takeaways but sadly it wasn't.

I then just drove on down through The Lakes.  It was so lovely to see Thirlmere, Grasmere and Rydal Water again.  I had intended stopping for more photos, but it was so dreich I didn't.  I will go up again sometime on a nicer day to do that.  Ambleside didn't seem over busy, a few people about but definitely not crowded.

Got to the Troutbeck Roundabout and got held up for 30 minutes because of a 4-way traffic lights system.  A bit frustrating but I wasn't in any hurry, just hungry and wanting to get home for some lunch.  The traffic lights were only there because of lobbing branches off trees, so hopefully won't be there long.

Then drove along the shore of Windermere,, through Bowness, which was fairly quiet for a change.  I noted where Stagshaw Gardens were as I hope to visit there either later this year or early next year, weather permitting.

That's my day.  It was good to be out and about.  I had a sense of guilt for being so far away (it's not that far but it felt like it) and a slight sense of adventure.  

That's it for today.  Take care, stay safe and see  you all tomorrow.

Thank you so much dropping by and for all your stars and comments etc.  They do cheer me up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.