FRIENDS

What a wonderful day today, despite the awful dreich weather.

Two weeks ago I met up with my greatest friend's daughter, who was in Lancaster visiting her daughter.  Well today she brought her Mum up from Somerset and it was to be a total surprise.

My friend Ann, whom I've known now for almost 40 years.  It was her birthday yesterday and she rang me to thank me for her presents but even then had no idea that we would be meeting up today.

Her daughter Janet, persuaded her to go hom to Flint with her.  Then this morning said "let's go to Lancaster to meet up with Hannah (Janet's daughter, Ann's granddaughter).  On the way she also said "I know I'll take you to the garden centre where I met up with Maureen (me|) a couple of weeks ago.  Even then she didn't twig, she just thought to herself, what a shame we couldn't have arranged to meet up with M hee hee).

Hubby and I got there early and our table was free.  It couldn't have been in a better location.  We were tucked in the corner round a circular table enough for about 7 or  8 people and it had a small slot where we could see people arriving at the reception desk.  This meant I could see them as they arrived.

Duly as soon as I saw them I jumped up (fullly masked of course)  and appeared from behind the Christmas Tree pointing at my friend.  The look on her face was priceless - a few tears we had of course.  The receptionist looked as smiling so I just explained that it was her birthday and that we hadn't seen each othe for 6 years.  A short time later two waitresses came long with a bottle of prosecco, courtesy of the house, to celebrate the special occasion - that just put the cherry on top of the cake.

We had such great fun laughting and chatting and catching up.  Bay View Garden Centre in Bolton-le-Sands have never let their guard down regarding covid so I felt relatively confident in going there.  The food and service was excellent.

Ann and Janet have now gone back to Flint and Hannah to her lodgings in Lancaster and her studies.  

FANTASTIC DAY - something I will be living on for a few days now.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.