pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Half day

With only a half day of work ahead of me, I got stuck in quickly as I had a 10am video call with the person who cancelled on me yesterday.

It went well and on for longer than I had imagined, so 12.30 soon rolled around, but not before I’d had some good news on a couple of other cases. The target which we have striven so hard for all year is almost within reach. Somehow I still felt low and slow, but headed out and was treated to a fry-up at lunch at the local garden centre by my parents.

I had to look twice at my mother as with her red beret, red scarf and furry coat, she chatted away and for a moment, she was her own mother. Judging by lunchtime, if we turn into our parents, I will soon become a man unimpressed by sausage and mash and regretting letting my son have the last remaining fry-up. I will also pay for lunch which will be much appreciated.

Following a post-lunch catch-up with Simmo, Dad and me took the dog for a walk and hunched up as a bitter wind blew across the rolling Essex fields. It always puts me in mind of EW2 who on her first visit from the North declared that there was “too much sky” (see extra).

I was tempted to do some Christmas shopping, but due to the hordes, Chelmsford was declared a no-go zone by mum. I walked around the back garden for a little while enjoying the leaves scrunching and twigs cracking underfoot, when inspiration struck and I popped round to see my niece (and a couple of people she kicks around with). I was there before she got home from school, so she made my day when the front door opened and she came charging in to give Unkle Dunkle a welcome cuddle. We had a nice chat about Christmas and slipper monsters.

I didn’t stop long as I’m allergic to their cat, but it was nice to have another cuddle with my niece, heavily pregnant sister and yes, even my brother in law didn’t escape a man-hug.

Early night for me tonight due to an early start for a long drive back north to reclaim my offspring for the weekend. It’s been a slightly surreal elongated yet no less welcome break with the family, which has been nice, but I’m looking forward to the fire of home and the cuddles of my own children.

Have a great weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.