Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Holy Corner

Friday today so art quiz at the end, good luck, 10 for me today, full marks!


I was in church this morning for M and B's wedding. There were only 9 of us there in total. Four more than at Ali's wedding in April. It was another beautifully intimate service and I felt privileged to be there.
We first met M around 8 years ago when he worked for the company doing major work in our garden. We didn't like the company and would never have used them again but were very taken with M. When he set up on his own we had him do several different types of work for us over the year. He's actually a skilled arborist and tree surgeon but turns his hand to most things. I love people who, like me, approach things in a problem solving manner. When I was organising the refurbishing of the rectory during our vacancy almost 3 years ago, a couple of major problems appeared. In one case, I contacted M and he came at less than a days notice and replaced some joists and a floor in less than 24 hours.
I met his bride, B, in March of this year when they were doing work on our garden. He asked me then about being married in our church - having met our Rector and liked him when he was doing more work at the rectory. As a result of that they have been coming to church and today were married there. A lovely story and my part was all chance built on a completely unexpected background. I was very touched to be asked to read the Corinthians 13 - the 'love' passage at their wedding.

My blip today is of the children's corner in our church. The Edinburgh Diocese has a children's church kit. It consists of this miniature altar, a set of vestments, communion vessels etc. The children are encouraged to play with it and to explore the contents. Our rector's two year old daughter particularly likes dressing up like her Daddy! The kit can be borrowed by any of the churches in the diocese and is really popular. This is the Advent frontal.

From church I came home just in time for us to head out for lunch with Mum. It's much colder today so we made sure to wrap up well.
Still not made any progress with Christmas preparation - except for buying a packet of Paxo today. I will get a more exciting stuffing nearer the time but I do like Paxo too.
We're listening to Nick Cave on TV and rather enjoying it.
It's been a lovely day today, the wedding has left me with a warm glow, such a privilege to be there. Tomorrow will be a good day too we have the girls from 8am to tea time. Certainly won't be quiet and restful!
Keep safe folks, we seem to be slipping down the slope again......

Art Quiz link
https://nationalgalleries.typeform.com/to/welrjEdw?typeform-source=lm.facebook.com

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.