At the BM

I dived in to the British Museum shortly after opening time this morning. I was rewarded by clear spaces within the giant central court which never fails to impress. I wanted to see a couple of little exhibitions. One was of 19th century water colours of Swiss landscapes, some of which were quite bold and modern. 

The other was a single room of exhibits by six modern Japanese women artists. This was a small display but the works were stunningly good. A variety from glass blowing to embossing card. I thought it was excellent.

I know that I am a Philistine and perhaps this is why I don’t find the general exhibits in the BM particularly interesting. But it is hugely popular so I am clearly in the wrong. On the way out I paused on the steps and admired the strong sunshine and shadows across the yard.

Then into a tiny coffee shop across the road which houses the Camera museum. Fascinating with various film cameras for sale. But I am not in the market when I am still getting to grips with my film Minolta.

After that a quick walk across to John Lewis where you can buy a tin of Quality Street with just your favourites in it. So who would choose the orange creams and the toffees? A clever idea, and now we have a tin crammed full with just four varieties.

So that is another item crossed off the Christmas list.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.