The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Queen B

I like to think this is the Boss, the queen blackbird of the garden who has been with us for over two years, but in truth I'm not sure. She's big enough and tame enough to be her, but the little white hairs behind the eye do look slightly different in arrangement (and I'm not certain this is a constant feature anyway). Yesterday she was present with a male, so perhaps they will stay to breed in the garden. Up on the Knott, the singing male from last Thursday's blip is still there, easily recognisable by a unique dee-dee-dee-deee-deeee phrase. I always worry for the bold males who sing in conspicuous places, all too easy for a sparrowhawk to pick off.

I won't be spending much time commenting tonight, the man flu has been creeping up on me all Easter, and today it got the better of me. I came home to work this afternoon, not so much for my benefit, but to spare my colleagues. I sometimes wonder if all colds start with me, as I never have any idea where they came from.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.