New

Off today. After the dog walk at lunch time in my old wellies we went to the next town over in search of a new pair without holes and a new pair of cheap walking shoes - without a worn-out outsole. Decathlon had plenty of wellies in stock, not quite the same variety they carry in the UK, but plenty of choice from the very premium Aigle to the very cheap own brand. In the end I went for pretty much the cheapest pair they had, but they did actually fit and were comfortable.

We then went to the walking section to look for a cheap pair of waterproof walking shoes. My worn out pair have last lasted over three years which isn't bad. Unlike most people I walk a lot, as I don't drive, so I normally ware through the sold of most shoes in less than a year. Since starting to work from home four years ago, I've put weight on but my shoes do last longer...! They had the same style as before but not in my size, there was a big gap where the size 43 ones should have been. I didn't fancy spending €90 on a pair of shoes to walk the dog so we came out with just the wellies.

We then went to the DIY shop to pick up a few things and then every shoe shop on the way back, until we nipped into Intersport, who are a bit random and more a fashion sport shop, but they did have a good deal on these Columbia walking shoes, and €20 less than Decathlon. Seems like a deal.

After dinner I took the dog for his last walk of the day and went round in my new shoes - the blip was taken just before we set out. I don't think the dog cares what I wear as long as he gets his walk. I think I like dry feet and shoes that fit...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.